Enquiries - School Office 01843 834431
Courage . Confidence . Faith . Service
Enquiries - School Office 01843 834431

English

The Department aims to provide students with an engaging, varied and challenging curriculum. We aim to teach students the skills required to become confident, critical readers of both fiction and non-fiction texts. We aim to develop their communication skills in both speaking and written form to enable them in future education and employment.

We have revised our Key Stage 3 programme so that it provides a foundation for the GCSE course.  This allows the students to develop their skills whilst exploring a wide range of texts.

We currently follow the Edexcel specification for GCSE English Language and the AQA specification for GCSE English Literature. At A Level the AQA (English Literature B) course is studied.  This is a popular course and many students continue to study the subject at university level

We offer students extra-curricular activities to fully support their study and enjoyment of English. We take students to the theatre to see productions of the texts they are studying at local theatres and in London.  Members of the department are keen for students to develop a love of literature and the theatre, and offer trips to performances at every opportunity. We also offer an enrichment trip to the ‘Harry Potter Studio Tour’ to broaden students understanding of the career options available within literature and film.

The department comprises of the following members of staff:

Subject Leader- Mrs Jackie Dewey
deweyj@ursuline.kent.sch.uk

Mrs Dannii Bainborough
bainboroughd@ursuline.kent.sch.uk

Mrs Jenny Cartland
cartlandj@ursuline.kent.sch.uk

Mrs Lisa Davis
davisl@ursuline.kent.sch.uk

Miss Fiona Giles
gilesf@ursuline.kent.sch.uk

Miss Emily Johnson
johnsone@ursuline.kent.sch.uk

Miss Ayesha Mobin
mobina@ursuline.kent.sch.uk

Ms Donna Steel
steeld@ursuline.kent.sch.uk

Miss Michelle Rye
ryem@ursuline.kent.sch.uk

Year 7

Content Overview

In Year 7 we continue to develop a range of Literacy skills throughout the year. The year starts with a transition unit to help students settle into Secondary School and make links to their learning in Year 6.  Termly units are ultimately linked to building skills towards GCSE and consist of a the study of 19th century short stories; an introduction to Shakespeare; a modern play; poetry from other cultures; the study of a novel.

Assessment

There are 2 or 3 assessments each term, based around the key reading and writing skills. At the end of the year students will sit an examination. Assessment is designed to track students’ progress in the key skills required for GCSE.

Year 8

Content Overview

Year 8 continues to develop literacy skills, with focus on both non-fiction and fiction reading and writing. Termly units study a novel; pre-20th century poetry; a Shakespeare play; non-fiction writing; 19th century story extracts; a modern play.

Assessment

There are 2 or 3 assessments each term, based around the key reading and writing skills. At the end of the year students will sit an examination based on a reading and writing topic they have studied.